V.S Achuthanandan

V.S Achuthanandan

V.S Achuthanandan was born on 20th October 1923. His father was Sankaran and his mother was Akkamma. V.S lost his mother at the age of four and his father at the age of eleven. This forced him to stop his school education in the seventh class. He started assisting his brother in his tailoring shop and later joined a coir factory as a worker.

V.S started his early political life by organising the agricultural workers in Kuttanadu. He was initiated into the political movement by Com. Krishna Pillai. Later he participated in the freedom movement and the Communist Movement. V.S was in the forefront of the Punnapra – Vayalar struggles against the policies for C.P Ramaswamy Iyer, Divan of Travancore who wanted to establish an American model government in Travancore. He was arrested on 28th October 1946 and was taken to Poonjar police station. He was beaten up severely in the lock – up. Policemen pierced his sole in both legs with bayonet. Com. V.S spent five and half years in jails and four years underground during his political life.

Com. V.S Achuthanandan was in the forefront of the land struggles in Kerala starting with the Alappuzha declaration in 1970 demanding implementation of the Land Reforms Act passed by the EMS Government in 1967. Later his activities as the leader of the Opposition in the Kerala Assembly had evoked good public response.

V.S started his political life as a trade union worker in 1938 and later became a member of the Travancore State Congress. V.S became a member of the Communist Party in 1940. He became a member of the undivided CPI state Secretariat in 1957. He was one among the 32 leader who walked out of the CPI national council in 1964 to form the CPI (M). He was CPI (M) State Secretary from 1980 to 1992. Com. V.S is a Polit Bureau member  of CPI (M) since 1985. He has functioned as Chief Editor of Deshabhimani daily and Chintha weekly.

Com. V.S was elected to the Kerala Assembly in 1967, 1970, 1991, 2001 and 2006. He was the leader of the Opposition during 1992 – 1996 and from 2001 to 2006.

Com. V.S Achuthanandan took oath as Chief Minister of Kerala on 18th May 2006.